Hullo and welcome to the first ‘Sweet Spotlight’ – a little article series where I intend on focusing in on one type of candy bar/sweet/chocolate, both current and past. To kick it off I’ve been trying to find out more about the Verne Collier Inc, Birmingham Alabama…

I picked up this original tin whilst rummaging through an antique mall in Kansas last summer; it stands approx. 10cm tall with the front design advertising ‘kitchen fresh fine candy’, and the reverse sporting a rather 50’s retro looking silver star pattern. Only the lid makes reference to what type of candy was inside – I believe that this might have been a design feature of quick and cheap, mass production; allowing candy to be distributed quickly with little time spent on amending designs for each confectionery line. Just pop them in the tin and make sure the right lid is on top!

According to the lid, the tin apparently once contained ‘Cocoanettes‘ – made with (among other things) milk, sugar and cocoanut – an archaic spelling of ‘coconut’, and retailed at only $1 per pound. But apart from the actual information on the tin, I’m struggling to find out much else about this candy (for now)!

The only references I have found so far are advertisements taken out for Cocoanettes, Chocolettes and Peanut Brittle in magazines such as ‘Scouting’ and ‘Field and Stream’ where the tins of candy are pitched as a way for boy scouts, schools and churches to raise money for community causes. They could be bought by these organisations for 50c, giving them the opportunity to double their money; a similar framework is still in place for scout groups buying and selling chocolate and candy today.

Left (1966) Right (1970)

Most of these adverts seem to span the 1960’s and 70’s, and their images of the tins pretty much match mine, hooray! And in the above adverts we can even see images of the candy! They almost look like piece of heavily coated popcorn…but I hazard a guess that they were rolled coconut balls of sorts.

Above (1974)

But I am yet to find any references to Cocoanettes being sold outside this market and appearing in retail stores – perhaps this was solely the purpose of production for the Verne Collier candy company? Not being an American, or familiar with the notion of selling candy even as a girl guide, I feel like there’s a pool of socially based information I am not privy to, so if any of y’all can enlighten me, then please let me know!

I am hoping to find out more about this tin in the future as I work my way through a series of books on American candy, but if any one out there also has a tin, knows anything about the origin of Verne Collier candies, or can remember selling or buying or eating them, please get in touch! I’d love to hear from you, and will update this article if any I can find out any more information about my little American souvenir.

8 thoughts on “Sweet Spotlight: Verne Collier Cocoanettes

  1. Hello, I am Verne Colliers Niece, Yvonne Sharpton. I was watching the day my Aunt
    drew the picture of My Grandmother for the Candy Can. She was a Wonderful Lady
    with a Great Mind for Business. I may have some answers to your questions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Yvonne, thank you for getting in touch! That sounds great, thank you – I’ll make some notes and questions and get back to you if that’s alright?

      Like

  2. Hello
    My name is Stan Faulkner and Verne Collier was married to my grandfather, Loy Gunter. I grew up in Birmingham and worked at the candy factory when I was in high school. I might be able to give you a little information.

    Like

  3. Hello my name is Cheryl and I just wanted to say that I remember this delicious candy when I was very young. My mama bought a can of the coconut test. So good! But after the candy was gone my mother used the can for a button can and its full. So this can has been in my family for many years as I am 60 yrs. old now. My granddaughter and I started looking up the history behind this can. She was so excited to find out things about this can and so was I!!!

    Like

    1. Hello Cheryl, thank you so much for sharing your lovely story! It seems many people have fond memories of these candies, and I’m learning a lot from all of your experiences.

      Like

Leave a comment