I’ve never been disappointed when eating wafer bars from Poland, so with this delectable track record, I thought it high time to try some other Polish confections, starting with the country’s leading brand of chocolate – E. Wedel.

E. Wedel was established in 1851 in Warsaw by Karol Wedel, and is Poland’s oldest chocolate firm. His son Emil took control of the family business, including a brand shop, cafe and factory, in 1865. His chocolate proved so popular that each bar was eventually stamped with his signature in order to discourage copy-cat products – you can still see this stamp on their products today!

E. Wedel cherry and chocolate bar

This particular bar is composed of dark chocolate (50%) with a cream and cherry filling. Despite my enthusiasm, I’m not a great fan of chocolate and cherries, and this did effect my enjoyment of this bar, however, each of the individual components of this bar are very tasty! I love dark chocolate, and the chocolate used here is rich, but not bitter and is very enjoyable. Inside the semi-soft cream and cherry puree are a wonderful pairing – any tartness from the fruit is softened by the fondant and the cherry taste is rather fresh and unmistakable!

Layers of chocolate, cherry and cream – note the E. Wedel signature on the bar

For me, the bar’s three components individually are very palatable, but together, cherries and chocolates is just not for me. I do recommend you give it a try though, or any of their other fruity and inventive flavours as it’s quality stuff, and I’ll definitely be trying more of E. Wedel chocolate in the future!

Leave a comment